home board salanga alcala awardees Features

2014 Awardees

31st National Children's Book Day


22 July 2014


  • Michael de Guzman
    Reyna Elena (honorable mention)
  • Genaro Gojo Cruz
    Gaano ba Kalayo Patungong Paaralan? (honorable mention)
  • Susan Anne Alegro Quirante
    Ang Misay sa Aming Bahay (honorable mention)


  • Aaron Paul Asis (grand prize)
  • Jericho Angelo Moral (honorable mention)
  • Jason Gabriel Sto. Domingo (honorable mention)


Freelance Artist Wins Alcala

The 2014 PBBY-Alcala Prize was won by freelance artist, Aaron Paul Asis. Asis based his winning entry on one of the 2014 PBBY-Salanga honorable mention awardees, “Gaano Kalayo Papuntang Paaralan?” by Genaro Gojo Cruz.

According to this year’s judges, Asis’ illustrations “depict the intimacy between two brothers, but their visual closeness does not prevent the viewer from imagining the expanse of the outside world and feeling the anticipation for tomorrow’s journey to school.”

Garnering honorable mention this year are artists Jericho Angelo Moral and Jason Gabriel Sto. Domingo. All three artists are members of Ang Ilustrador ng Kabataan (Ang InK), a professional organization for children’s book artists.

Asis shall receive Twenty-Five Thousand Pesos, a medal, and an opportunity to be published. Prizes will be awarded during the National Children’s Book Day ceremonies on July 15, 2014.

For inquiries about the contest, please contact the PBBY Secretariat at telephone number 352-6765 loc. 203 or e-mail pbby@adarna.com.ph.


Three Authors share Honorable Mention at the 2014 PBBY-Salanga Prize

The Philippine Board on Books for Young People awarded Honorable Mention for the 2014 PBBY-Salanga Prize to writers Michael de Guzman, for his story "Reyna Elena;" Genaro Gojo Cruz, for his story, "Gaano ba Kalayo Patungong Paaralan?" and Susan Anne Alegro Quirante, for her story "Ang Misay sa Aming Bahay."

This is not the first time de Guzman and Cruz have been awarded by the PBBY. De Guzman bagged Honorable Mention in 2003, while Cruz won Honorable Mention in 2004. This is Quirante’s first award from the PBBY.

The three winners shall be awarded during the celebration of National Children’s Book Day in July 2014.

For inquiries about the contest, contact the PBBY Secretariat at telephone number 352-6765 loc. 203 or e-mail pbby@adarna.com.ph.



2014 Alcala Illustrators Prize Winner
Aaron Asis

Aaron Asis

Aaron Asis

View winning illustrations