home board salanga alcala awardees Features

2016 Awardees

33rd National Children's Book Day


July 18, 2016


  • Genaro Gojo Cruz
    Makinang Makinang (grand prize)
  • Joseph Salazar
    Kung Bakit Hindi Nagsasalita si Kabunian (honorable mention)
  • John Paolo Sandicho
    May Dalawang Dulo ang Puso ni Papa (honorable mention)
  • Leila Francesca Maligalig
    Dandelions (honorable mention)
  • Jacqueline Franquelli
    Kindat, Kindat (honorable mention)


Genaro Gojo Cruz
Bags 2016 PBBY-Salanga Prize

The Philippine Board on Books for Young People declared Genaro Gojo Cruz as the grand prize winner of the 2016 PBBY-Salanga Prize. Gojo Cruz bagged the Salanga with his story, Makinang Makinang, a simple tale about a child’s encounters with his mother’s sewing machine.

Four writers were cited as honorable mention this year: Joseph Salazar for his story, Kung Bakit Hindi Nagsasalita si Kabunian; John Paolo Sandicho for his story, May Dalawang Dulo ang Puso ni Papa; Leila Francesca Maligalig for her story Dandelions; and, Jacqueline Franquelli for her story, Kindat, Kindat.

Gojo Cruz is a prize-winning children’s book author and a professor at De La Salle University and Philippine Normal University. He has won honorable mention in the Salanga twice before: 2004 and 2014.

Gojo Cruz will be awarded during the celebration of National Children’s Book Day on July 19, 2016.

For inquiries about the contest, contact the PBBY Secretariat at telephone number 352-6765 loc. 203 or e-mail pbby@adarna.com.ph.




2015 Alcala Illustrators Prize
Honorable Mention Winners

Maria Sabrina P. Palmares

Maria Sabrina P. Palmares